The Inorganic Chemistry Division of the Italian Chemical Society together with the Luigi Sacconi Foundation, on the occasion of the annual meeting of the Division, awards the Luigi Sacconi Medal to a scientist (Italian or foreigner) who has obtained particularly significant results in Inorganic Chemistry, the field in which Luigi Sacconi gave outstanding contributions.
The nominations for the award, proposed by the members of the Division, must be accompanied by a curriculum vitae of the candidate and the most significant motivations for his nomination.

The President of the Division will inform the members about the announcement of the award.

The awarded scientist will be nominated by the Council of the Inorganic Chemistry Division on the recommendation of a committee composed by two members of the Council together with a member of the Foundation.


Università di Torino, Italy


Previous winners:

Matthias Beller Leibniz-Institut für Katalyse, Rostock, Germany (2022)

Prof. Dr. Frank Neese, Max-Planck Inst. für Kohlenforschung, Mülheim an der Ruhr
Germany (2021)

Prof. Chi-Ming Che, University of Hong Kong, P. R. China (2020)

Prof. Liberato Manna, IIT Central Research Labs, Genova, Italy (2019)

Prof. Clare Grey, University of Cambridge, UK (2018)

Prof. Guy Bertrand, University of California, San Diego, USA (2017)

Prof. Zijan Guo, Nanjing University, P. R. China. (2016)

Prof. Tobin Marks, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL, USA (2015)

Prof. Roland Lill, Phillips Universitaet Marburg, Germany (2014)

Prof. Pierre Braustein, CNRS - Université de Strasbourg, France (2013)

Prof.  Stephen J. Lippard, MIT, Cambridge, USA (2012)

Prof. Robert G. Griffin, MIT, Cambridge, USA (2011)

Prof. Lyndon Emsley, Université de Lyon, France (2010)

Prof. Vincenzo Barone, Scuola Normale Superiore di Pisa, Italy (2009)

Prof. Robin Perutz, University of York, United Kingdom (2008)

Prof. Ernesto Carmona, University of Sevilla, Spain (2007)

Prof. Pierre Dixneuf, Université de Rennes 1, France (2006)

Prof. Roald Hoffmann, Cornell University, USA (2005)

Prof. Omar M. Yaghi, University of Michigan, USA (2004)

Prof.Luis A. Oro, University of Zaragoza, Spain (2003)

Prof. Ryoji Noyori, Nagoya University, Japan (2002)

Prof. Ann Walker, University of Arizona, USA (2001)

Prof. Wolfgang A. Herrmann, Technische U. München, Germany (2000)

Prof. James A. Ibers, Northwestern University, USA (1999)

Prof. F. Calderazzo, University of Pisa, Italy (1998)